4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2012 11:23 AM by Jon Tara

Can't figure out writing to a file from within a rhoelements app

I have a local file that is read in upon the initial launch of my rhoelements app, but I want to be able to update that file during the app execution.  I'm not an expert in javascript or web development, but from what I've found, using javascript to write to local files is either frowned upon or impossible for security reasons.

I've been trying to use the following resource in order to use html5 standards to write to a local file, but I can't seem to get this to work either.  http://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/file/filesystem/ 

Long story short, there must be an easier way to do file IO in Rhomobile than my current strategy, but I can't seem to find anything in the documentation about it nor can I seem to get any web-based approaches to work correctly.

One of the goals of my project is to try to use as little rhomobile specific functions as possible, so if anyone has a more html/javascript solution available, that would be preferable to a rhodes solution.

Edit: I should note that what I want to modify is completely offline.

Edit2: I never did figure out how to do it without using Rhodes, but here's the resource I eventually had to use to get it to work, since I find some rhomobile documentation difficult to find.  http://docs.rhomobile.com/rhodes/device-caps#alerts

If anyone finds a way to do the same thing without using Rhodes, I'd still like a reply.

• Re: Can't figure out writing to a file from within a rhoelements app
          Dino Gregorich

Brandon,

I have a customer who is evaluating RhoMobile.  He is moving from a C#.net app to a RhoMobile app. He wants to read and write files like you desired in your original posting.  I am still learning RhoMobile and am way behind the learning curve.  Do you have a snippet of code from your application that you can share with regard to File I/O (local file reading and writing)?