[REPOST] 1500 different EAP-TLS Certificates...

Team...

Sorry for the repost (also put this up in the Fusion thread) but I'm casting the net as wide as I can...

I've been presented with a bit of a poser. My customer wants to deploy
WPA Enterprise with EAP-TLS. They want to use a "personalised"
certificate per device, so each one of their 1500-odd MC75s would have
it's own unique certificate and credentials.

Importing the certificates is OK. The problem is going to be creating the WLAN profile.

Right now, we're in a competitive situation with Intermec, who has
apparently written an XML script to create the WLAN profile on the CN3,
allowing them to dynamically insert the correct values at staging.

My questions: Has anyone been in a similar situation before, and if so, how did we work a result? Can we use SymScript for this?

TIA!

-JP
Richard Baker
Jon, I am not an expert on

Jon,
I am not an expert on this topic but I am researching XML provisioning on our devices right now. Here is a link with an example on creating a wap provisioning document that will install a certificate in the WM certificate store.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa456048.aspx

By default WM devices will allow Over The Air provisioning in compliance with the Open Mobile Alliance (formerly WAP) standard. Microsoft had expanded the OMA standard within its' OS. Installing the certificate will also depend on what security policy is implemented on the device. WM 5.0 has the ability to only allow signed or authenticated apps, files, or XML configuration documents to be executed or acted upon.

I have not learned XML, but the nature of XML enables you to define anything you want. There is functionality in the XML that will allow you to dynamically pull information / data.

Intermec is not doing anything that is not part of the OMA standards for WAP client provisioning / device management.

SymScript would probably be an enabler for this; Paul has added XML provisioning functionality.