RhoElements and contextual keyboard (numeric vs alphabets)

Hi,

My "RhoElements" developer tells me that there is no way using RhoElements to provide/display separate keyboards optimised for specific form field inputs.

Is this true?

I am working on the User Experience of the app, and noticed, every time there is a numeric field where users have to input numbers, an "alphabet" keyboard is displayed.

Which means its an additional tap for the user to go to the "numeric only" keyboard.

The App is build using HTML, CSS, JQuery and Angular.

Is there a code or API that we can give users the right keyboard on mobile forms.

Thank you.

P.S. I am not a developer/programmer hence why I need to know if this is possible using RhoMobile.

Robert Galvin
Hi IssacThere are a couple of

Hi Issac

There are a couple of things you should be aware of:

1) Each operating systems and each browser will behave differently with the input type="number" tag

2) In RhoMobile suite you have the choice of running with the native browser for that OS or with the Motorola Webkit (which is denoted by app_type in build.yml)

For Motorola webkit, we do not support most input type=.... to switch the keyboard. You are better off using the native browser for that. But also note that even the native browser will behave differently depending on the device/os version/etc. Ex: on some versions of Android type='number' does not pop open a 10 digit numeric keypad, it just puts the querty keypad in shift mode so the numbers are easily accessible, where as type='tel' does put it in a bigger button 10 digit mode.

So overall, make sure you are using the stock webkit option (no app_type:rhoelements in build.yml and check to see what the browser behavior is using the standard browser on the device.

Vote: 
Vote up!
Vote down!

You voted ‘up’

Isaac Sane
My devs informed me that we

My devs informed me that we are not using the app generator.