11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2013 6:10 AM by Alexey Tikhvinsky

Help with New install of Rhomobile suite and android build

Darrell Coffey

Good morning, I'm a developer with 28 years under my belt. I've decided I need to learn about porting some of my software system to mobile devices and since I already use Motorola handhelds (MC70, MC75) decided RhoMobile suite would be an excellent fit.  I'm totally green when it comes to this, so forgive me if my questions are vague.

Set up a new box, with windows 7 x64 this weekend and applied all updates.

Went to walmart and purchased an android tablet with android 4.1.1. Went into settings and enabled "developer" over usb.

Downloaded and installed latest Java JDK (7u45). No issue.

Downloaded the Latest RhoMobile suite (4.0 release) and installed. No issue.

Downloaded and installed android SDK/ADT Bundle R9. No issue.

Downloaded and installed RhoMobile Suite. No issue.

Added java\bin path in my system path settings.

Configured RhoMobile Suite to point correctly at my JDK and android folders.

Created a new "hello world" app, works in the emulator, but when I deploy to the device, I get "unfortunetly HelloWorld failed" with a close button.

I tried in vane to install/un-install the android images/sdks for multiple verions all with the same result thinking it may be building for a 4.3 device instead of 4.1 since I could not find where to set target version. I even installed the 4.0 sdk images with the same result.

Being new to this area, I am at a loss.

Do I need to install some supporting files on this brand new tablet?

Am I missing something on the studio? How do I tell it to target a 4.1 device vs a 4.0, 4.2,4.3 etc? I could not find a setting for that anywhere.

I scanned google for any "how to" but most of what I found was for older Os's and older versions of the RhoMobule suite.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

• Re: Help with New install of Rhomobile suite and android build
          Hector Meza