13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2013 8:17 AM by Tobias Appel

RMS 4.0 Barcode API Example not working

Tobias Appel

Hi,

I'm a student and using Rhomobile for the first time for a university project. We purchased some laser scanners, Motorola MC3190 running Windows CE 6. I'm trying to figure out how to get the scanner working. So I watched the tutorial video and got the source code from here: rho-samples/BareBones/BarcodeExample at master · rhomobile/rho-samples · GitHub

But it's not working. When I run Rhoelements on the device and press the button to call Rho.Barcode.enumerate(); nothing is happening. So I tried running it using RhoSimulator and now I know why it's not working - the method is not found. In code it's called via:

scanners = Rho.Barcode.enumerate();

And I've checked the build.yml file and it says:

extensions:

- rhoconnect-client

app_type: rhoelements

So I don't need to specify the barcode API as extension.

That's from the debug log in eclipse:

[quote]

E 12/11/2013 16:02:32:453 00000fd0       js_helper| API method does not found: Rho:Barcode:enumerate
      I 12/11/2013 16:02:32:468 00000fd0      JavaScript| Console message at undefined:0
      I 12/11/2013 16:02:32:468 00000fd0      JavaScript| Method not found.

[/quote]

So I have checked the documentation again and there the enumerate function is called like this:

scanners = Rho::Barcode.enumerate();

But when I use this syntax I get a different error:

I 12/11/2013 16:07:50:203 000002a0      JavaScript| Console message at http://127.0.0.1:1195/public/barcode_enumerate.html:16
      I 12/11/2013 16:07:50:203 000002a0      JavaScript| SyntaxError: Parse error

Now I'm confused. I bet the solution is very simple but since I never worked with Javascript, Ruby nor RMS before I can't quite figure it out. Can someone please point me to the correct syntax?

• Re: RMS 4.0 Barcode API Example not working
          BHAKTA RANJAN SATAPATHY

Hi,