9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2013 1:10 PM by Kendrick Coleman

Help with architecture...  RhoConnect?

I'm attepting to build an application with a very very complex SOAP installation. I finally figured out how to make the calls in SoapUI and I'm working on getting the calls to work correctly in ruby with Savon for starters. I was doing some reading and it seem like it's much easier to create the SOAP connection from RhoConnect to the application server, and then serve REST APIs to the mobile app from RhoConnect.

I'm confused on what RhoConnect actually is. I've read all the motorola documentation and it's not KISS enough for me. I'm a novice RoR programmer but the function of RhoConnect is still foriegn to me. If i planned on putting my app in the app store, where does a RhoConnect instace run? Is this something that runs on the mobile phone? or do you have to deploy a RhoConnect server somewhere? If it's the latter, then that probably won't work.

This application will hopefully be used by hundreds of people. Essentially, when you download the app, you will use it to connect to your own internal application server. This internal application server has its own WSDL. REST is not available on the application, only SOAP.

So am i stuck trying to perform the SOAP calls directly from the mobile device?

Any suggestions on making my life easier? Are there any good how-to blog posts out there? Thanks

• Re: Help with architecture...  RhoConnect?
          Kutir Mobility

Hi Kendrick,

RhoConnect is a synchronization framework consisting of a client application (a client component on the mobile device) and a server component a RhoConnect application). Rho-connect server works like connector between mobile and backend application.It get all data from backend application and sync to local device. It doesn't run on mobile phone. You need to deploy RhoConnect server somewhere and then you use that url in your Rhodes application.