MC3000 - EMDK ?

// Expert user has replied.
S Seena Menon 3 years ago
1 9 0

Hi, I have been assigned a task to understand how we can begin development on our handheld devices, and I am new to this. Apart from EMDK packages, what are other options to get some development work going for the handhelds? We use MSP for packaging and deployment as I understand. Thanks Seena

Please register or login to post a reply

9 Replies

T Timothy Murphy

You'll need ActiveSync to install PB on your device from the Program Files menu option on your desktop. There is no specific IDE for PocketBrowser development nor extra requirements.  Any HTML editor will do.  I am a little partial to PSPad, but have also used Notepad.  The documentation included with the Pocket Browser 3.0 Developer Help.chm file will help explain a lot by all of the APIs called out with code snippet examples.

S Seena Menon

I see. I am refering to the "Installation Requirements - Development PC / Device Runtimes" on the below link - this suggests setting up a framework: http://support.symbol.com/support/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=k… Thanks for suggesting PocketBrowser - will check it out. Seena

T Timothy Murphy

Yes, I apologize for my hasty comment.  Those other requirements are necessary for your development environment, and all downloadable from Microsoft.

S Seena Menon

No worries at all Tim. I downloaded PocketBrowser - I am a little confused about how this works. It has setup files for the device. So I would install this on the device - but how do I setup the development environment for this? For example, EMDK has 2 components - for development PC and the device. Does PocketBrowser have something similar? I don't see anything similar in the installation package. Please help. Seena

S Seena Menon