6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2014 3:15 PM by Malcolm Eaton

ET1 Data Wedge Issue

Malcolm Eaton

Hi All I am looking to setup the ET1 data wedge to scan a Qr code into a text field on a Web Based App

My issue is the Qr code has some 10 numbers the a comer and then the data we need I am unsure how to set this up to only populate the part we need Eg: Qr code reads as follows. 1411265394,GL0517269 we just need the GL0517269

All the Qr codes have unique numbers Eg Serial.

The Qr code reads fine into the web page text field but puts the WHOLE number into field.

Please see Image

20140902_172549.jpg

All assistance greatly appreciated, as I am a newbie to this )

Kind Regards

Malcolm

• Re: ET1 Data Wedge Issue
          Daniel Silva

Take a look at the user guide.

I think you will probably want to set up a profile in datawedge for whatever app you are trying to scan this data into, this way any data manipulation will only happen when scanning into that app.

DATAWEDGE USER GUIDE

Then in that profile, I think you will want to set up an Advanced Data Formatting rule.  If that comma is always in the same spot, you could check for it there in the criteria, but if not, you could put in a couple of actions like "Move Past a  (,)" and "Send Remaining"

https://launchpad.motorolasolutions.com/documents/dw_user_guide.html#_generating_advanced_data_formatting_rules

Malcolm Eaton

Hi Daniel

Thank you so much for your reply.

I will give that a try.

The comma is always in same place 

"After the first ten numbers" 

I have looked at manule but did not know what to write in the comment line :) 

Cheers Mal

Sent from my Samsung GALAXY Note3 on the Telstra 4G network

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                Malcolm Eaton

Hi Again Daniel

Mate I have tried the suggestion without any luck I think I may have done it wrong.

I note the instruction where you say about a FIXED Comma

This is what we have , 1411265394,GL0517269